Monday, Mama – Just A Tiny Spill

Not too long ago I experienced one of THOSE days.

It was the day where I heard Jesus whisper, “Um, I think you spilled a little something there.”

Of course, when Jesus speaks, we are supposed to listen, so I turned around and looked where I had been. Sure enough, right there on my way to the altar, right where I was supposed to lay down my best for Jesus, were some drips and sploshes.

I had been careless instead of careful; selfish instead of selfless. It probably happened when I was so busy thinking about all the things I do as a mother and wife and daughter and friend and worker and – good grief! – the holidays always seem to be just around the corner somehow, so I had to add the roles of baker and shopper and hostess.

I was counting all those times when I was being poured out for others – all those sacrificial moments – when all the while, Jesus just wanted me to be all poured out for Him. Carefully.

I hung my head and Jesus handed me the mop. He looked at me with love and stuck around just because He happens to adore me.

The LORD has appeared of old to me, saying: “Yes, I have loved you with an everlasting love; therefore with lovingkindness I have drawn you…”

Jeremiah 31:3 (NKJV)

He also stuck around because He knows I really need Him.

All we like sheep have gone astray; we have turned, every one, to his own way; and the Lord has laid on Him the iniquity of us all.

Isaiah 53:6 (NKJV)

He’s an expert when it comes to the little drips and sploshes. That’s what His sacrifice was all about.  We were splattered and messy and He died for that mess.

For scarcely for a righteous man will one die; yet perhaps for a good man someone would even dare to die. But God demonstrates His own love toward us, in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.

Romans 5:7-8 (NKJV)

In light of His ginormous sacrifice, all the little things I give up seem rather insignificant. But they are necessary in order for me to do a good job serving the One who saved me.

And above all things have fervent love for one another, for “love will cover a multitude of sins.” Be hospitable to one another without grumbling. As each one has received a gift, minister it to one another, as good stewards of the manifold grace of God. If anyone speaks, let him speak as the oracles of God. If anyone ministers, let him do it with the ability which God supplies, that in all things God may be glorified through Jesus Christ, to whom belong the glory and the dominion forever and ever. Amen.

I Peter 4:8-11 (NKJV)

And if they are necessary, then I must be careful not to spill one tiny drop.

Oh Lord, give me steady hands with which to hold the cup I have received from you. May I bear it all for Your glory.

 

**Portions of this post were previously published in the NECC Women’s Newsletter.

 

 

Leave a Reply

