Oh, 101.

Sweaty palms. Dilated pupils. New Year. New You.

Well, not a new you, but a new me. Except not really.

And beginning blogging feels pretty much like this: physical changes like the first two phrases; stuttering sentence fragments like the next few phrases.

And this is what I get, and what you get to read, with Blogging 101. Be patient with me, please, as I get my bearings, gather my skirts and step into this water.

And be forewarned — I might post things that seem strange for someone who has blogged for a while, and that’s okay. It’s good to refocus. It’s good to rise to challenges. It’s good to step out of my comfort zone and do something new.

So, this is my LOI, my letter of introduction. The Christian writers group that started with me in August of 2015 should recognize a lot of this material. As for the rest of you, I hope you might recognize some of yourselves in these words as well. If you don’t, ask me my secret and I will share with you the mystery of Christ.

My palms might be sweaty and my pupils might dilate a little, but it’s nothing serious.

It’s just something new.

I am a 40-ish Christ-follower, mother of four, wife to Eric, freshly-turned gardener, chicken-keeper, menagerie-manager, daughter, sister, friend, encourager, former teacher but-still-a-teacher-at-heart,  keeper-at-home … oh, and I write.

I write grocery lists and to do lists. I write devotionals and rants. I write letters and poems. I write prayers and verses to memorize. I write on sticky notes, and on my computer, and on backs of envelopes, and in my special journals, and in the margins of my Bible, and on napkins, and on the back of my hand.

I write for magazines and newspapers and on-line news digests and blogs. I am a paid professional freelance journalist. I have poetry and short stories floating around in anthologies and magazines and books somewhere …

A billion years ago, I graduated from Georgetown College with a BA in English, double minors in Religion and Philosophy, with an emphasis on Journalism.  Not quite a billion years ago, I completed the two-year Apprenticeship with the Christian Writers Guild.

As a Christian, I find it extremely difficult to be in the world and not of the world.  I sure hope I am not alone in that one. You see, the world says that there is a huge I in creativity. But, for a Christian, there is a huge GOD in creativity.

He is the beginning and the end.

He is the source of all creativity.

He is the author and finisher.

He is the ultimate editor and publisher.

And we, if we humble ourselves and look at the reality of it, are simply tools in the Hands of the Maker of All Things.

Oh, may I be the reached-for, well-worn, and beloved tool!

But I wasn’t getting what I needed from the world. That’s the way the world works. Writing in the world looks so shiny and so easy and so best-seller and so earthy and so accepted and so published … yet, if it’s not true, if the writing doesn’t reflect the glory of God Almighty, the words are as empty as a cup filled with holes, or as useless as a pen with no ink.

To be holy and not hole-y. To be useful and not useless.

Rising to the challenge. Join me?

 

In His Grip,

Kristy

 

7 thoughts on “Oh, 101.

  1. Kristy…what a fine blog you have! And I absolutely positively love your post titles…each one makes me want to read it…and that is exactly what they are supposed to do.
    Congratulations on all you have accomplished…and with dedication, I know you will continue to move forward in your life and in your faith.

Leave a Reply

